The Pennwood Haunting by S.K. Zurcher

This is a book that grabs a hold of you on page one and doesn’t let go until the very end. I read this book in two days. Honestly it would have been one, but it got dark out, everyone in my house went to bed, and I got scared. I am a lover of all things ghost and haunting related, and this book had its moments where I was legitimately creeped out. So to be safe and to make sure that the monster under the bed didn’t get to me I called it a night and finished the book before dark the next day. NOW don’t think that this book may be too scary for you, honestly I am just a wimp sometimes.

The Pennwood Haunting is the story of  first year grad student Shelly. Shelly has always been a good student and she has worked her butt off to to get into the best Psychology program in the U.S.. Which just happens to be located at Pennwood University, but she, like most other graduate students does not have bottomless pockets. Because of her lack of extra cash she has secured a graduate assistantship and now all she needs is to find low-cost housing. When she finds 1020 Sycamore Lane she believes that she has hit the jackpot, however things would soon change. Strange sounds can be heard throughout the night, and she thinks she is seeing things, so she decides to get some help. She enlists the help of her boss at the university Larry, who just so happens to be a top parapsychologist. Things slowly start to get worse and people start to get hurt. Everyone soon realizes that this is no normal haunting, Shelly and Larry enlist the help of other professionals, they all soon realize that this needs to be resolved quickly before someone is killed.

I loved every minuted of this book. I really appreciate how well written this book is and how much detail is included in the text. Zurcher used detailed descriptions to really paint a picture for the reader that allowed them to easily envision what was happening in the story. As stated before this book grabbed my attention on the first page and didn’t let go until the very last. The cover of the book is spooky and eye-catching, it really makes the reader curious as to what the book will be about, and it encourages them to pick it up and give it a shot.

The only complaint that I have about the book is the age level listed for this book. Amazon.com has it listed for children ages 10-18, or grades 5-12. Personally I think this book is grossly inappropriate for children, I would personally only recommend this book for readers ages 14 and up, and even then it would be with caution. This book uses vocabulary that would easily confuse the younger children, but that is not the only concern. This book does have scenes with decent amounts of violence and there is a sex scene or two (these are not terribly graphic, but they are present). Also this book can get pretty spooky at times. For these reasons I would I would only really recommend this book for teens in high school and adults.

As for rating I give this book a 4 for quality, and a 2 for popularity. This book was only published a few months ago in January of 2016, but with the quality of writing I believe that this book has a lot of potential to become very popular. Overall I have to give this book a total score of 6 out of 10. Don’t let the lower score deter you from reading this book though, I really did enjoy it, and I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

Zurcher, S.K. The Pennwood Haunting. CreateSpace Independent Platform. Electronic. 449 pages.

To purchase a copy of this book or to learn more about the author please check out the links below:

The Pennwood Haunting on Amazon     The Author’s Twitter Account


Just a BTW: I am in no way affiliated with this author or publishing house. I was not compensated for this post/review, and all opinions are my own. I am just a fan sharing my experiences with all of you.

Leave a Reply

