WILD by Alex Mallory

“He’s from the woods. She’s from the world” Can I make it anymore obvious? (If you sing it to the tune of “Sk8er Boi” by Avril Lavigne it’s 10 times funner and I look 3% more clever.)…Seriously give it a shot, I’ll wait.

 

Okay now that thats finished check out the book blurb found on the inside of the book jacket:

The forest is full of secrets, and no one understand that better than Cade. Foraging, hunting, surviving— that’s all he knows. Alone for years, Cade believes he’s the sole survivor. At least, until he catches a glimpse of a beautiful stranger…

Dara expected to find natural wonders when she set off for a spring break camping trip. Instead, she discovers a primitive boy— he’s stealthy and handsome and he might be following her. Intrigued, Dara seeks him out and sets a catastrophe in motion.

Thrust back into society, Cade struggles with the realization that the life he knew was a lie. But he’s not the only one. Trying to explain life in a normal town leaves Dara questioning it.

As the media swarm and the police close in, Dara and Cade risk everything to get closer. But will the truth about Cade’s past tear them apart?

Juicy right? This book was something that I picked up on a whim. It had a cool cover, and looked exciting. I know, I know don’t judge a book by its cover. But I do…all the time, and honestly I’m kind of glad that I do. I have found many cool books and awesome authors who’s work I really enjoy all because I picked up a book with a pretty/exciting cover. So while I don’t think that you should always judge a book by it’s cover, I don’t think its a bad thing to do every once and a while.

**Now I will step down from my soap box and get back to the review.**

I was expecting this book to be an adventure story and it ended up being so much more. There were elements of adventure yes, but there were also elements of psychology, and survival mixed in as well. The way the author wrote the characters it was impossible to not fall in love with them. The entire time I was reading I just wanted to hold Cade’s hand and tell him that everything will be okay. I honestly felt really bad for him, he was ripped away from the only home that he had ever known and was essentially told that everything he had ever known was wrong, it was all a lie. The media caught wind of his story and he was made a spectacle of, it broke my heart. I just wanted to jump into the pages of the book and make it all better for him. Luckily he had Dara by his side, and I found myself cheering for them to work everything out  for the entirety of the book.

I want it to be clear that this book was so very beautifully written, Mallory took her time in making sure that this story was believable.The attention to detail is not something that should be glossed over, she should be applauded for it. You can tell that she did her research on the diseases mentioned, as well as making it believable that a teenaged boy could live in the woods on his own. It should be mentioned that this is a modern day retelling of the classic Tarzan. But while reading this book, that was the furthest thing from my mind. To me this was like reading a completely different story. I honestly had no idea this was a retelling of Tarzan until after I had finished reading, and had started writing this blog post.

A great thing about this book is it has a little something for everyone. There is absolutely the sense of adventure when the teens are attacked by a bear. There is mystery when the readers are trying to figure out who Cade is exactly, and what will end up happening to him when they figure it out. There is suspense present when the truth about Cade is starting to become known. There is even a little bit of romance for those of you who are into that kind of thing.

Now time for the rating. I have to give this book a 4 out of 5 for quality, and a 4 out of 5 for popularity. Bringing the total for this novel to 8 out of 10. Like I said before there is a little something for everyone in this book so there is a pretty wide appeal. Give it a shot, I honestly doubt that you will be disappointed.

If you would like to purchase your own copy of this book , or learn more about the author please check out the links below:

WILD on Amazon     WILD at Barnes & Noble     Author’s Website     Author’s Other Website


Just a BTW: I am in no way affiliated with this author or publishing house. I was not compensated for this post/review, and all opinions are my own. I am just a fan sharing my experiences with all of you.

2 thoughts on “WILD by Alex Mallory

Leave a Reply

