“Servants of the Storm” By Delilah S. Dawson

When I finished this book the first thing I did was yell “DAMNIT” as loud as I could. My dad then asked what the cat knocked over to which I replied: “THIS BOOK, I CAN’T HANDLE THIS BOOK!!!” I then immediately grabbed my computer and started searching for information about the sequel. Do you want to know what I found? Do you really?

First here is the description for the book:

Dovey learns that demons lurk in places other than the dark corners of her mind in this southern gothic fantasy from the author of the Blud series.

A year ago, Hurricane Josephine swept through Savannah, Georgia, leaving behind nothing but death and destruction—and taking the life of Dovey’s best friend, Carly. Since that night, Dovey has been in a medicated haze, numb to everything around her.

But recently she’s started to believe she’s seeing things that can’t be real…including Carly at their favorite café. Determined to learn the truth, Dovey stops taking her pills. And the world that opens up to her is unlike anything she could have imagined.

As Dovey slips deeper into the shadowy corners of Savannah—where the dark and horrifying secrets lurk—she learns that the storm that destroyed her city and stole her friend was much more than a force of nature. And now the sinister beings truly responsible are out to finish what they started.

-From the Simon & Schuster website

This book is one that grabbed my attention at the very beginning, I mean the first chapter is a description of a horrific hurricane. The way in which the author wrote this, you can honestly feel the fear of the two girls caught in the storm. It was so detailed that I felt like I was there, in the house, with them  about to die. So yea I was hooked pretty early on. And it just kept getting better. During this book you follow Dovey as she tries to save her best friend, her family, and her city from the demons that are just wreaking complete havoc on Savannah. During this time she is learning a lot about the world around her, the people who live in it, and she even learns some new things about herself.

So for the things that I liked about this book: I loved the fact that the scenes in this book were believable (kind of) I mean honestly you never really know with demons. The premise of this book was really unique and unlike anything I have read before. The book was well written, and I was constantly on edge never knowing what was going to happen next or where the next plot twist would take me. These are all very good things (Obviously).

Things I didn’t like about the book: CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT!!!! Some of the characters were super well developed, but others really weren’t. I really want to look past this because the main characters are fine, however there are multiple villains or villain like characters in this book that we know nothing about. For example the demon Josephine is supposed to be like the baddest demon bitch in town and she is honestly in the book for one scene and is never mentioned again. There are other characters who are important for the plot like Carley’s grandma and like the super demon she is in and out of the story in just a few pages.  But I will say that the way that these characters are written leads the reader to think that they may be better explained in the sequel (more about that later) which is why I’m trying my best to overlook it.

Another thing I didn’t like about this book is the ending. Seriously there are so many things that upset me about the ending, but I don’t want to list them out because nobody like spoilers! But seriously this book gives you no closure and the more I think about it the angrier I get. I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT IS HAPPENING OR GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT.

So this leads me back to the beginning of this post were I talked about looking for the sequel. There is no sequel. I REPEAT THERE IS NO SEQUEL! I found this quote on the authors website listed on a page full of reasons that you should pre-order this book (clearly it’s an older page but it is all that I could find mentioning a sequel). This is the final reason on the page and it reads “Because the ending will leave you wanting to know what happens next, and the sequel hasn’t been sold.” And she wasn’t lying about wanting to know what happens next.

So I’m not going to lie I’m pissed. The book ends with countless loose ends that I doubt we will ever see remedied.  Like seriously someone needs to buy the publishing rights to the sequel so she can write and publish it.

Now that I’m done ranting its time for the rating. I give this book a 3 for quality and a 3 for popularity. The low quality rating is for the character development and the loose ends. Like I said I really enjoyed this book, but I cant get over the fact that the ending was setting up for a sequel that we may never see. Sorry for mentioning it again I know I said I was done ranting and I really am now. So in the end this book gets a total score of 6 out of 10 from this blogger.

Honestly if you are looking for a suspenseful, creepy, supernatural filled read pick this up. I did enjoy the book and how captivating it was while I was reading. It will honestly grab ahold of you and refuse to let go. If you aren’t super crazy about having a sense of closure at the end of a book like I am you should be fine reading this.

**But seriously can we start a “go fund me” or a “Kick Starter” or something like that and fund the sequel? Please?**

**Okay I’m going to go read something else now. I’ll see you all again next time.**

Dawson, Delilah S. Servants of the Storm. New York: Simon Pulse, 2014. Print. 376 pages.

For more information about how to purchase the book, or if you are looking to learn more about the author, check out the links below:

Servants of the Storm on Amazon     Servants of the Storm at Barnes & Noble                                                                                  Author’s Website


Just a BTW: I am in no way affiliated with this author or publishing house. I was not compensated for this post/review, and all opinions are my own. I am just a fan sharing my experiences with all of you.

Leave a Reply

