May OwlCrate!

The theme for this month’s Owl Crate was “Steampunk.” This months box was extremely jewelry heavy, which for some is nice. Like usual the items included in this box are from mostly small companies which I absolutely support, and I think is awesome. Also this box comes with a new release hardcover and copy of a letter from the author which is really cool as well.

With that all being said, I’m going to be straight forward with you. This months box was kind of a miss for me. I will say that I have never really been into the steampunk scene and I actually know nothing about it so most of the extra items for this month will be things that I give away. However  I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE BOOK THEY SENT THIS MONTH!!! Peter Pan was always my favorite growing up. And I have read dark re-tellings of Peter Pan in the past so I am super excited to give this book a chance. There is also a really cool Peter Pan inspired print that I plan on framing and keeping on my book shelf.

Below is a picture of everything that we received this month (sans the owl candles and the white lantern, those are mine haha).

IMG_2522

And here is the description for the book!

London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among them Gwen Darling and her siblings, Joanna and Mikey. They spend their nights scavenging and their days avoiding the ruthless Marauders, the German army led by Captain Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer.

Unsure if the virus has spread past England’s borders but desperate to leave, Captain Hook hunts for a cure, which he thinks can be found in one of the survivors. He and his Marauders stalk the streets snatching children for experimentation. None ever return. Until the day they grab Joanna.

As Gwen sets out to save her, she meets a daredevil boy named Pete. Pete offers the assistance of his gang of Lost Boys and the fierce sharpshooter Bella, who have all been living in a city hidden underground. But in a place where help has a steep price and every promise is bound by blood, it will cost Gwen. And are she, Pete, the Lost Boys, and Bella enough to outsmart Captain Hook?

-From Scholastic Website

As I said before I am super excited to read this book that is actually the beginning of a series (there will be at least one more!). Peter Pan has always been my favorite, I loved the idea of Neverland growing up, and the thought of flying and never growing up still appeal to me to this day. This is definitely a book that I would have probably picked up on my own had it not been included in this box.

If you have ever considered subscribing to OwlCrate I really suggest that you do. Opening this box is absolutely like a little Christmas that happens every month. To subscribe you can check out the link right here —> OwlCrate

So what all did I get this month? Check out the list of items below!

Infernal Devices inspired ring $6.00 (I think this ring was an OwlCrate exclusive, but this is a similar type ring from the same shop so that is what I am basing my pricing off of)

Skeleton Key Necklace $9.00

Steampunk Nail-Wraps $10.00 (Again I think these were an exclusive, so here is a very similar item from the same shop.) ALSO I think they are currently running a sale for Memorial Day so all nail wraps look like they are 50% off.

Metal Steampunk Key Pin $7.95

Peter Pan Art Print $12.00

“Everland” by Wendy Spinale $10.58

Also in the box was a letter from the author as well as some gold flash temporary tattoos that are promotion materials for the book. Neither of these items are for sale as far as I can tell so I have no pricing details for them. This box is $29.99 a month + $6.99 shipping and handling. There are 3 and 6 month plans that do bring down the overall price and you can check out that information here.

Even though I am not a huge fan of the extra stuff in the box for this month I am super excited for the book and I am OBSESSED with the art print. Overall I am happy and I am super excited for next months box, the theme of which is ROYALTY!

 


Just a BTW: I am in no way affiliated with OwlCrate, I was not compensated for this post/review, and all opinions are my own. I am just a fan sharing my experiences with all of you.

Leave a Reply

