“Forgotten” by Cat Patrick

This was a great book that I thoroughly enjoyed. There is just enough mystery to keep the reader on their toes, and just enough romance to make the reader feel like a teenager falling in love for the first time.

Here is the description for the book:

Each night at precisely 4:33 am, while sixteen-year-old London Lane is asleep, her memory of that day is erased. In the morning, all she can “remember” are events from her future. London is used to relying on reminder notes and a trusted friend to get through the day, but things get complicated when a new boy at school enters the picture. Luke Henry is not someone you’d easily forget, yet try as she might, London can’t find him in her memories of things to come.

When London starts experiencing disturbing flashbacks, or flash-forwards, as the case may be, she realizes it’s time to learn about the past she keeps forgetting—before it destroys her future.

-Found on the author’s website

I really enjoyed this book, the idea behind the story is really unique. London has no recollection of the past, but she can see things in the future. So in an attempt to remember what has happened in her past she writes all about her day before she goes to bed at night. This is a system that has worked for her for years, but now she is a teen and things don’t always go as planned. For example the night that she accidentally falls asleep with her boyfriend Luke without writing her letter, she wakes up not remembering him, where they are, or how they got there. SO BASICALLY she wakes up terrified, as one would. Speaking of her boyfriend, she can’t see him in her future, he is the only person that she has to remind herself of every day. But don’t worry this is actually kind of romantic and not awkward like that one Adam Sandler movie.

This book has a lot of twists that you don’t see coming and I think that is really awesome, there are also a lot of really cute romantic moments which I personally love. I really like that this book does have a little romance but it in no way shape or form is graphic or smutty. When reading a YA book I tend to cringe if there are super smutty bits. If I want to read smut, I will, trust me. I also love the author’s writing style in this book, it is very easy to get into.

One thing I wish were different about this book is there is no real explanation as to why London doesn’t remember Luke at all, and why he is the only person that has this effect on her. Another aspect of this book that I am not a huge fan of is the ending, I honestly wish that the book were longer. I really loved getting a glimpse of London’s world and I wish that I could have stayed there just a little while longer.

Overall I really liked this book and I absolutely recommend this book if you are looking for a fun and unique YA book. As for rating I will give this book a 4 for quality and a 3 for popularity. Meaning this book has scored a total of 7 out of 10 from me!

 

 

Patrick, Cat. Forgotten. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2011. Print. 288 pages.

If you are interested in purchasing a copy of this book, or you would like to learn more about the author please check out the links below:

Forgotten on Amazon     Forgotten at Barnes & Noble     Author’s website


Just a BTW: I am in no way affiliated with this author or publishing house. I was not compensated for this post/review, and all opinions are my own. I am just a fan sharing my experiences with all of you.

Leave a Reply

